AIAA at the University of Wisconsin-Madison is a collection of student activity in engineering applicable to aerospace. Our mission is to build upon skills, knowledge, and experience acquired through course work. Hands-on engineering activity includes projects involving high power rocketry, aviation, and robotics. Events hosted by AIAA include guest speaker visitations, internship panels, social gatherings, and more.

BADGER ROBOTIC MINING

This group competes in NASA's annual Robotic Mining Competition. Mining points are awarded for robot weight, power consumption, material collection, and autonomy. Other competition points are awarded for written reports, outreach, and social media engagement.

RMC Competition Details




Team Manager
Tashi Atruktsang
atruktsang@wisc.edu

DESIGN BUILD FLY

Members build a fly remote controlled airplanes for an annual competition held in Wichita, Kansas or Tucson, Arizona. This year's competition challenges teams to build a plane that can be stored in an 8 inch diameter tube and carry 3 hockey pucks.




Primary Contact
Michael Keck
keck2@wisc.edu

COLLEGIATE ROCKET LAUNCH

Members compete in this annual competition hosted by the Wisconsin Space Grant Consortium. This year teams are challenged to build a rocket having a launch apogee between 2500 and 3500 feet while being scored for amount of electrical power generated during flight.

CRL Competition Details

MRL Competition Details

MIDWEST ROCKET LAUNCH

Members compete in this annual competition hosted by the Wisconsin Space Grant Consortium. This year teams are challenged to build a rocket that can be flown with two motors of different power classification. Scoring is based on launch apogee similarity between launches of each motor. Points are deduced for varying rocket mass.




Team Lead
Alex Balister
balister@wisc.edu

ROCKET FOR NASA RESEARCH

A group is assigned to build a rocket mimicing Falcon-9 G-forces and a payload that can freeze a plant's genome at specific points in flight. This vehicle and payload is designed for NASA funded research on mechanical stress from launch on vegetation.




Logistics Lead
Peter Friedl
pfriedl@wisc.edu

RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT

AIAA is committed to teaching members skills applicable to relevant competitions and research. Subject matter includes SolidWorks, MATLAB, Arduino, proper motor and part specification, and more.




Primary Contact
David Zeugner
zeugner@wisc.edu

AIAA OFFICERS




President
Tashi Atruktsang
atruktsang@wisc.edu




Vice President
Alex Strange
astrange@wisc.edu




Treasurer
Dyllan Sowers
dsowers@wisc.edu




Outreach Coordinator
Maggie Loose
mloose@wisc.edu




Spring Trip Coordinator
Megan Linton
mmlinton@wisc.edu




Webmaster
David Zeugner
zeugner@wisc.edu